Society of Devon Intensive Therapists
Furthering healthcare for the critically ill

SODIT Background

The Society of Devon Intensive Therapists (SODIT) was founded in 1995 following a meeting between Iain Wilson (Exeter), Giles Morgan (Truro), Peter MacNaughton (Plymouth) and Julia Munn (Exeter).
The aims of the society are:
- establish a network of critical care throughout the peninsula
- update and impart recent advances in critical care
- encourage trainee development and support
- further collaborative research across the peninsula

The inaugural meeting was held in the spring 1996 at Manor House Hotel (now Bovey Castle), Mortenhampstead, Devon for 26 delegates. The society has grown significantly over the years with SODIT 2017 hosting over 100 delegates.
Highlights of the past 18 years have been the 10 year anniversary meeting held in 2006 at the Island Hotel, Tresco, Isles of Scilly.

We have always attracted a mixture of well-known national speakers and excellent local speakers delivering highly academic and invigorating meetings. Unique features of our meetings are the SODIT debate, which is always entertaining and informative, and the SODIT run - a surprisingly well attended fun run, timetabled at the end of the first days academic sessions before the Gala Dinner.


President - Dr Martyn West - Derriford Hospital,Plymouth

Secretary - Dr Jess Welbourne -Derriford Hospital,Plymouth

Treasurer - Dr Rob Jackson - Derriford Hospital,Plymouth


Iain Wilson - Royal Devon & Exeter, Exeter

Ray Sinclair - Royal Cornwall Hospital, Truro

Peter MacNaughton - Derriford, Plymouth

Mike Swart - Torbay, Torquay

Bradley Browne - Musgrove Park, Taunton

Andy Daykin - Musgrove Park, Taunton

Julia Munn - Royal Devon & Exeter, Exeter

Will Woodward - Royal Cornwall Hospital, Truro
Website Builder